fbpx
by Aglaé Dancette
April 20, 2019

Why Brands Are Using Storytelling ?

Dior show

It has been a few years since our ways of communicate have evolved. Brands now need to be careful by using adequate contents and the right tone. Storytelling is today considered as a really interesting tool to seduce its clients and make them have a positive opinions about a brand or a product. This tool has now been adopted by many brands, it is above all a very good way to give access to some important historical informations and that’s certainly the main reason of why people love it.

For brands the challenge is really to differentiate themselves from the other.”

 

Before storytelling

Until 2000, brands used to copy each other’s communication. The tone used was very formal and stereotyped. In this context, it was difficult for companies to differentiate themselves from each other and to express their specificities. In parallel, we started to talk more and more about ideas like emotional intelligence or empathy. Companies that takes the position of experts couldn’t succeed in touching their target. They were only few explaining with transparency their struggles, their successes or their innovations with customers. In most cases, there was still a distance put between the brand and the clients.

 

The language was cold, sanitized while in the meantime companies provided products and services that were more and more immaterial : computing, consulting, health industry, technological services etc. Companies had to find a way to explain simply what they did to conquer the customers.

Chanel show
Tagheuer add campaign

Telling the story the right way

With all these new stakes, storytelling raised at the end of the 2000’s. Companies finally understood the power of stories, narrations, tellings; They got how important it was then to seduce clients while conveying their values the right way. The challenge really is to differentiate the brands from each other and to get closer to the users and customers.

From that point on, storytelling helped building a brand identity, creating some emotions and encouraging the values of sharing and listening. The way to communicate wasn’t abstract anymore, it became evocative and embodied. The one who tells the story has to catch the attention of the target, and has to motivate the changes thanks to memories, moments of truth, shock effects and argumentation to convince the customers. The telling must be organized and must encourage people to think.

 

How to explain the success of storytelling ?

Thanks to storytelling, companies’ communication isn’t monotonous anymore. It involves the clients. The form does now matter as much as the content which needs to be creative and reflexive. Poetry, metaphors, anecdotes, different tones and registers of speech, all the means are good to touch the interlocutor and to federate a community around the brand. Historically, big brands have always tried to tell their stories in that sense. Storytelling is really relevant to seduce the clients of the luxury industry because they are looking for some special experiences with the brands they like. The personal stories of Coco Chanel or yves Saint-Laurent for instance have become a big part of the brand associate to it, and so a powerful business leverage of communication. On another hand, brands like Hermès, Louis Vuitton or even Rolex base their storytelling on the quality of their savoir-faire.

par Aglaé Dancette
avril 20, 2019

Les Enjeux du Storytelling

Défilé Dior

Depuis quelques années, la communication s’est métamorphosée et les entreprises doivent s’adresser à leur cible avec des contenus et un ton adéquats. Le storytelling est la mise en récit d’un discours dans le but de séduire les interlocuteurs et de forger leur opinion de façon positive. Cette méthode de communication qui fleurit sous tous les formats est également excellente pour rendre plus accessible certaines données ou contenus techniques.

« Les entreprises comprennent le pouvoir des histoires, de la narration, du récit ainsi que l’importance de séduire et transmettre ses valeurs aux consommateurs de la façon la plus appropriée possible. »

 

Avant le storytelling

Jusqu’aux années 2000, les marques ont tendance à copier la communication des unes et des autres et le langage est très institutionnel, voire stéréotypé. Difficile dans ce contexte d’exprimer ses spécificités alors qu’en parallèle on parle de plus en plus d’intelligence émotionnel, d’empathie. Les entreprises se positionnent en expert et ont du mal à trouver le ton juste pour toucher leur cible. Elles sont peu nombreuses à expliquer et partager leurs difficultés, leurs succès, leurs innovations avec le public. La distance est donc maintenue entre les clients et les marques.

La langue utilisée est froide, aseptisée, pas incarnée alors que des produits et des services de plus en plus immatériels font leur apparition sur le marché : informatique, conseil, secteur tertiaire, santé, technologique. Les entreprises doivent trouver le moyen d’expliquer ces changements de façon simple mais qui ne soit pas réductrice pour autant

Bien dire ou bien écrire l’histoire

Face à ces nouveaux enjeux, le storytelling s’impose aux marques à la fin des années 2000. Les entreprises comprennent le pouvoir des histoires, de la narration, du récit et de l’importance de séduire et transmettre ses valeurs aux consommateurs de la façon la plus appropriée possible. L’enjeu est de véritablement se distinguer de la concurrence et de rapprocher des clients.

 

Dès lors, le storytelling aide à bâtir une culture d’entreprise et à mobiliser des émotions, tout en véhiculant des valeurs de partage et d’écoute. Le discours n’est plus abstrait mais évocateur et incarné. Celui qui prend la parole doit parvenir à capter l’attention, à susciter le changement en alternant entre formules mémorables et moments de vérité, et à argumenter pour aussi convaincre l’auditoire. Le discours doit être structuré et pousser à la réflexion.

 

Sur quoi repose le succès du storytelling ?

Grâce au storytelling, la communication des entreprises n’est plus froide et monotone. Le consommateur est impliqué. La forme importe désormais autant que le fond et nécessite une écriture construite, réfléchie et créative. Poésie, métaphores, anecdotes, registres de discours variés, tous les moyens sont bons pour toucher son interlocuteur et fédérer une communauté de marque. Historiquement, les grandes marques se sont toujours appliquées à raconter leur histoire. Le storytelling est particulièrement pertinent pour séduire les consommateurs du luxe qui sont en quête d’une expérience avec la marque. Les histoires personnelles de Coco Chanel ou Yves Saint-Laurent par exemple sont devenues partie intégrante de leur marque associée et donc un levier de communication imparable. Le storytelling de marques comme Hermès, Louis Vuitton ou Cartier repose essentiellement sur leur savoir-faire en revanche.